Monserrate arrested, Willets Point impact?

So as I’m sure most of you already know, City Councilman Hiram Monserrate (D-East Elmhurst) was arrested today on charges of assault after allegedly attacking his girlfriend with a broken bottle. For TimesLedger’s full coverage of the event, go here.

Ironically enough, I was on my way to meet with Sergio and Marcos from one of the Willets Point Defense Committees (the one who is working with Monserrate) when I heard of his arrest, which subsequently consumed my day.

I’ve rescheduled my interview for Monday, and will be back with more on what effect this could have on tenant business negotiations. I’ll also be posting some coverage of the Institute of Justice’s meet and greet with about two dozen Willets Point property owners.

Stay tuned.

