A note on Monday’s City Council events

UPDATE: Councilman Hiram Monserrate and consultants for the property owners told me Willets Point won’t be on tomorrow’s subcommittee and committee agendas.  I’ll stay on top of it nonetheless, but that’s the update for now.

I just wanted to clarify something. Friday was the only public hearing the City Council will hold on the Willets Point redevelopment.

On Monday, the City Council’s Planning, Dispositions & Concessions (who hosted Friday’s hearing) and Zoning & Franchises Subcommittees will meet at 9:15 a.m. and 9:45 a.m. respectively ahead of the full Land Use Committee’s meeting at 10 a.m. While these meetings are open to the public, they will not include time for public testimony. All three meetings will take place in the committee room.

I realized that in my previous postings I had referred to both Friday and Monday’s events as hearings, so I apologize for not being more specific.

Each legislative group is expected to issue a vote on the Willets Point project, although they could opt to delay it so long as they get it in prior to the full Council vote on Nov. 12. I should be able to get conformation on this by tomorrow, at which time I’ll update this post.

If they choose to vote Monday, I will be there and post the results as they happen.

Sorry for any confusion.

